ELIZABETH WATERBURY with some thoughts on the importance of programming traditional Western music

ELIZABETH WATERBURY with some thoughts on the importance of programming traditional Western music: “Based on the programs of the last conference I attended, I was fairly sure that the Brahms wouldn’t go over.  Brahms and other “dead white guys” were somehow déclassé.  I felt that the selection of the Brahms piece would hurt our chances of being selected, rather than help it.  What does it say about our profession when a good college choir is afraid to show up at a conference singing Brahms?”  I notice that at nearly every conference I attend, where there are so many new works on each program that I have never heard of.  There is a great desire to present something new at these conferences, which I understand, but we must also recognize that the “choral classics” that we think everybody knows about are simply not being performed today, and it is our duty to keep those alive as well.  (There’s more on this in an article here on page 9)

Comment here -- don't let me be the last word

