Machaut: Messe de Nostre Dame

This recording has always made me wonder about medieval historical performance practice.  They certainly sound different than any other medieval ensemble, much more Middle Eastern in their inflections.  The lowness of the pitch center is also startling.   And while I thought it was odd at first listen, the more I hear it, the more natural it feels.  I’m not convinced that medieval singers sang this way, but I’m also not convinced that they didn’t.

Comment here -- don't let me be the last word

